Members of the Supervisory Board and Board of Management

In accordance with section 104 of the AktG, the court appointed Ms. Birgit Dietze, Secretary to the board of IG Metall trade union, to the Supervisory Board of Volkswagen AG as an employee representative effective June 1, 2016. She thus succeeded Ms. Babette Fröhlich, who stepped down from her office on the same date.

Mr. Akbar Al Baker, a shareholder representative on the Supervisory Board of Volkswagen AG, stepped down from his office with effect from the end of the 56th Annual General Meeting on June 22, 2016. The Annual General Meeting elected Dr. Hessa Sultan Al-Jaber to replace him for the remainder of his term of office.

Ms. Annika Falkengren’s scheduled term of office and the terms of office of the court-appointed members of the Supervisory Board – Dr. Louise Kiesling and Mr. Hans Dieter Pötsch – expired at the end of the 56th Annual General Meeting. The Annual General Meeting elected all three members to a full term of office in the Supervisory Board of Volkswagen AG.

Dr. Karlheinz Blessing succeeded Dr. Horst Neumann as the member of the Board of Management of Volkswagen AG with responsibility for Human Resources and Organization effective January 1, 2016.

Dr. Christine Hohmann-Dennhardt, who was responsible for the newly created Integrity and Legal Affairs position on the Board of Management of Volkswagen AG with effect from January 1, 2016, left the Board of Management by mutual agreement effective January 31, 2017. The Supervisory Board thanks Dr. Hohmann-Dennhardt for helping the Group achieve key milestones with her outstanding technical expertise and experience and for supporting the Group in revising its internal directives and processes.

Ms. Hiltrud Dorothea Werner succeeded Dr. Hohmann-Dennhardt in the Integrity and Legal Affairs position on the Board of Management effective February 1, 2017.

Former Supervisory Board member Mr. Walther Leisler Kiep died on May 9, 2016 aged 90. The former Minister of Finance for the State of Lower Saxony was a member of the Supervisory Board from 1976 to 1982 and from 1983 to 1997 and accompanied the company’s development with great personal commitment during that time. We will honor his memory.